Perhaps this should have been my first or 2nd post. Everyone who is reading this blog today(you the reader, reading it) should have a good idea of what it is that the writer(me) believes on the basics of the faith. This would help you decide whether you want to keep reading because you agree with me, keep reading because you disagree with me, or stop reading because you agree/disagree.

Maybe you want to see what other like-creedal individuals think about certain theological/political subjects. Or maybe you want to know what the other team thinks about those subjects.

Whatever the case, I will now tell you.

I am a reformed baptist and agree with the 1689 2nd London Baptist Confession of Faith.

There are a few minor details in the 1689 that I don’t believe.

Here is where I disagree…

Chapter 9. of the Law of God

I disagree that the 10 commandments = the eternal Law of God that is written on the heart. I believe the 10 commandments are representative of that eternal law, and are binding upon all because they depend upon God’s eternal Law. However God’s eternal Law is found in

Matthew 22

But when the Pharisees heard that Jesus had silenced the Sadducees, they gathered themselves together. 35 One of them, a lawyer, asked Him a question, testing Him, 36“Teacher, which is the great commandment in the Law?” 37 And He said to him, “ ‘YOU SHALL LOVE THE LORD YOUR GOD WITH ALL YOUR HEART, AND WITH ALL YOUR SOUL, AND WITH ALL YOUR MIND.’ 38 This is the great and foremost commandment. 39 The second is like it, ‘YOU SHALL LOVE YOUR NEIGHBOR AS YOURSELF.’ 40 On these two commandments depend the whole Law and the Prophets.”

Chapter 22., paragraph 7 and 8

These paragraphs concern the nature of the Sabbath in the New Testament. They claim that the Lord’s Day is the reality of the Sabbath of the Old Testament. This does not harmonize with what Hebrews 4 says concerning the Sabbath rest that is found in Christ. I do not believe the Lord’s Day is the Christian Sabbath, I believe resting from works by faith in Christ is the Christian Sabbath. I therefore reject the content of paragraph 8.

Chapter 23.

I believe Christians should not take oaths if they can avoid it. This is in obedience to Christ’s command in Matthew 5.

Other than these three points I agree with the 1689 Confession.

